FAIRs Care

The Indiana State Fair has partnered with the Indiana Association of Fairs (INAF) and Feeding Indiana’s Hungry (FIsH) to implement a FAIRs Care County Food Drive. The goal of FAIRs Care is to raise awareness of local hunger needs and help feed Hoosiers impacted by hunger needs. FAIRs Care taps the passion and ingenuity of county fairs to ensure impact is felt statewide.


  • 1 in 6 Hoosier and more than 1 in 5 Hoosier children is at risk of hunger (22%)
  • More than 1.1 million people, including more than 319,800 children, receive emergency food each year through the member food banks of Feeding Indiana’s Hungry.
  • 33% of food bank clients are children under the age of 18
  • 77% of food bank clients report having to choose between paying for food or paying their utilities/fuel bills.
  • Every $1 raised provides multiple meals


  1. Develop and implement a food drive during your 2018 County Fair
  2. Engage a local food bank to help organize the food drive and to ensure donation are utilized locally
  3. Complete the FAIRs Care application on or before May 18, 2018. Approved county fairs will receive an allotment of Indiana State Fair tickets to help incentivize donations
  4. Upon the successful completion of the food drive and submission of a final report by July 31, 2018, the participating county fairs will be entered to win $200 to be put toward a future hunger initiative



  1. Porter County – raised $22,450
  2. Miami County – collected 11,050 pounds of food
  3. Washington County Farmers Merchants – collected 5,862 pounds of food
  4. Newton County – collected 3,920 pounds of food
  5. Tipton County – collected 3,324 pounds of food


1. Washington County
2. Adams County
3. Monroe County
4. Clay County
5. Harrison County
6. Orange County
7. Hamilton County
8. Huntington County
9. Wabash County
10. Jay County
11. Pulaski County
12. Blackford County
13. Daviess County
14. Boone County
15. Spencer County
16. Howard County
17. Allen County
18. Dearborn County
19. Newton County

20. Clinton County
21. Vermillion County
22. Randolph County
23. Vanderburgh County
24. Wells County
25. Miami County
26. Shelby County
27. Grant County
28. Porter County
29. Fayette County
30. Hancock County
31. Hendricks County
32. Jennings County
33. Perry County
34. Washington County
35. Jasper County
36. Tipton County